The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2011, 09:23 AM

texastroutbum has a spectacular aura abouttexastroutbum has a spectacular aura abouttexastroutbum has a spectacular aura about
Default wader repair

I have been using Simms L2 wader for 4 years and fished about 30 times or so. I found the other day that my knee area got soggy, not socked wet. So I visited the Simms website and followed the repair procedure, instructed by their youtube video. They suggested that I turned the wader inside out and sprayed alcohol, which will show some dark spots and that Aquaseal, a type of glue, should be applied to those dark spots.
I followed it (up to the spraying alcohol), but I could not find those dark spots. Does it mean that the pores are too small to detect? Another question is: Is this typing of water sipping a sign that the wader’s life comes to an end soon?
For now I just put some Aquaseal some of those areas which I suspect based on my unscientific gut feelings. But I want to see how it goes next time.

Do any of you have the similar experiences?

Last edited by texastroutbum; 02-24-2011 at 10:20 AM.
Old 02-24-2011, 09:48 AM

troutdoorsman is a splendid one to beholdtroutdoorsman is a splendid one to beholdtroutdoorsman is a splendid one to beholdtroutdoorsman is a splendid one to beholdtroutdoorsman is a splendid one to beholdtroutdoorsman is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: wader repair

Worst case, turn them inside out and fill the legs with water a little past where you think the leak is. Once you locate the leak circle it with a magic marker. Empty the waders out, dry the spot off and put waterever sealer( I like Aquaseal) you use on the circles and let dry.
Old 02-24-2011, 10:40 AM