The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/)
-   -   Nymph Presentation (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/108412-nymph-presentation.html)

fishinfrenzy 02-26-2011 10:26 AM

Nymph Presentation

I am fairly new to fly fishing and had a question regarding nymph fishing. I know how to set up some different nymph rigs fairly well but I am unsure how much they should be weighted or how much split shot should be added to give them the ideal presentation. Do you want the split shot constantly banging off rocks on the bottom with the flies trailing behind or do you want is suspended off the bottom? Also, how do you know you are getting down deep enough if you can't spot your flies in the water? The only way I can really tell is if you are occasionally hanging up and then you know you are making contact with the bottom. Basically, if anyone could tell me how I would know if the nymph rig was properly weight it would be appreciated. Thanks.

Rip Tide 02-26-2011 10:57 AM

Re: Nymph Presentation

Truthfully, the best way to figure out how much weight you need is to put it on a bit at a time until you're getting hung up, then take some off.
After awhile you'll be able to judge it pretty well, but there's a constant adjustment.

chrome_jones 02-26-2011 12:13 PM

I don't like "constantly" feeling the bottom when I nymph. And I don't fish with my fly "trailing" upstream of my shot. In that situation it sounds like not only are you using too much shot, but you are also fishing a pretty heavy fly, if thats the case you want significantly less weight in shot. I do however, like being reassured that I'm getting down by feeling a periodic tic or brief hang-up when I can't see or sense where my fly is in the water column.