The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 10:26 AM

fishinfrenzy is on a distinguished road
Default Nymph Presentation

I am fairly new to fly fishing and had a question regarding nymph fishing. I know how to set up some different nymph rigs fairly well but I am unsure how much they should be weighted or how much split shot should be added to give them the ideal presentation. Do you want the split shot constantly banging off rocks on the bottom with the flies trailing behind or do you want is suspended off the bottom? Also, how do you know you are getting down deep enough if you can't spot your flies in the water? The only way I can really tell is if you are occasionally hanging up and then you know you are making contact with the bottom. Basically, if anyone could tell me how I would know if the nymph rig was properly weight it would be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 02-26-2011, 10:57 AM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Nymph Presentation

Truthfully, the best way to figure out how much weight you need is to put it on a bit at a time until you're getting hung up, then take some off.
After awhile you'll be able to judge it pretty well, but there's a constant adjustment.
Old 02-26-2011, 12:13 PM

chrome_jones will become famous soon enoughchrome_jones will become famous soon enough