The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2011, 09:39 PM

rschreck will become famous soon enoughrschreck will become famous soon enough
Default Beginner Help.

Total beginner question here: Would a St. Croix Imperial Model IF805, 8ft, 5wt, with an Imperial 75 Disc reel be something I can not only learn on, but also use a year or two down the road? I found a good deal on the rod and reel and figured I'd ask before making a decision.
Old 02-27-2011, 10:07 PM

raindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud of
Default Re: Beginner Help.

St. Croix makes fine rods that will last you years.
My only caveat is: I believe that particular rod is on the fast action side of things-- fast action rods are typically less 'forgiving' than a med action... Your learning curve may be a little steeper than with a med. action rod-- but the quality is top-notch and will certainly last you years.

I'm not familiar with the reel- so can't comment on that, but I feel certain that it will match the rod's quality if made by St. Croix.

My vote is 'yes' and 'yes'.

Welcome aboard.
Old 02-27-2011, 11:11 PM