The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2011, 10:38 AM

sbalogh is on a distinguished road
Arrow Sage xi3 8wt help_ REEL NEEDED!

Hi all,

I just purchased a sage xi3 8wt, finally after months of saving up on my college budget.

I plan on using this rod for my spring break trip to turks and caicos for some bonefish, and the occasional salt water trip for redfish and all that kind of stuff. I am a student at the University of Arkansas so I also plan on using it for some smallmouth and freshwater striper as well as throwing streamers for large browns on the famous White river. And of course back home in Texas for those fat largemouth bass.

I have not decided on a reel yet to go with this rod, which is a big problem haha. I have been lookin at the Lamson Guru and that is a possibility but I really do not want to break my bank... or should I say piggy bank. I came across Allen & Co reels which are quite good looking and extremely affordable. Would it be a shame to put a $110 reel on an $800 rod? Has anyone used these reels for the type of fish I will be hunting?

Any suggestions on an affordable reel to go with this rod, keep in mind some saltwater but primarily large freshwater fish, would be extremely helpful!

Please let me know of any 8wt reels you think would be good for my use,

Thanks alot,

Stevo

PS. my spring break trip to turks is march 19 and also the whitebass/hyrbrid/strip are going to start running here in Arkansas very soon!

And any advice on self-guided bonefishing in turks and caicos would be greatly appreciated as well. Ill be staying at the Club Med on the northern side of Provo.
Old 03-01-2011, 11:38 AM