The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2011, 06:23 AM

charlie143 is on a distinguished road
Default Fly Fishing Knots

Hi,

I am just starting out into the wonderful sport of Fly fishing and just wondered which knots I need to learn and where I can get instructions online or in books as to how to tie these knots.

Your comments will be most welcome. Thank you.

Regards,

Charlie143
Old 03-12-2011, 06:37 AM

axle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud of
Default Re: Fly Fishing Knots

It really depends on how you approach the sport. I can do knots pretty well, but I look at it like this: The more time you spend fooling with knots is less time the fly in on the water. I don't use tapered leaders, I use furled leaders. Furled leaders have a loop on each end that makes things a bit easier to change out.

I learned the Arbor Knot (to attach the backing to the reel), the Nail Knot (to attach the flyline to the backing and a piece of Amnesia to the flyline) and the Perfection Loop (in the Amnesia to connect the furled leader to in a loop-to-loop connection and in the tippet to connect to the furled leader in a loop-to-loop connection).

I don't do any salt fishing so I can't speak to any knots you might use there.
Old 03-12-2011, 07:56 AM
Administrator