The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/)
-   -   Upstream or down (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/117645-upstream-down.html)

phantomdriver 03-22-2011 07:24 PM

Upstream or down

A newbie here...given the choice do you hike up the stream and fish downstream or fish upstream and hike back? ... Looking at section 4 of chattooga

Thanks;)

Hardyreels 03-22-2011 07:45 PM

Re: Upstream or down

I fish up with dries and I hike up and fish back with streamers.

Ard

phantomdriver 03-23-2011 04:59 AM

Thanks... Read the similar threads below and got some good info:)

Jimmie 03-23-2011 09:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phantomdriver (Post 228907)
do you hike up the stream and fish downstream or fish upstream and hike back?

Thanks;)

Last season we mostly hiked down then fished back up.

Rip Tide 03-23-2011 09:22 AM

I look to see where the other people are and then go the opposite direction. ;)

Sasha 03-24-2011 09:59 AM

Whatever direction the fish are.......

rangerrich99 03-24-2011 02:43 PM

Most authorities whose books I've read tell you to fish upstream. And at least from my little experience (I've only been flyfishing for about 2 years), I can tell you casting downstream presents all kinds of challenges, particularly with drag. And if you can get enough slack in the line to get a decent drift, setting the hook becomes a problem.

So, if possible, I hike downstream and fish upstream. Now I only fish downstream under very specific circumstances.

outfortrout 03-26-2011 09:22 AM