The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2009, 05:40 AM

Zman3382 is on a distinguished road
Default Additional Furled Leader Questions

Hello. After reading through the posts on this site that come up through the search and reading what Ive found on the web, I was hoping I could get some answers to the below questions. Keep in mind I am very new to fly fishing and haven't done much of it as yet. I have, however, done way too much reading and over thinking for someone who's spent so little time waving a stick at amused fish

1 - How do you select a furled leader? Different companies / people have different rating systems.. some rate them per species, some per fly line weight, and some by lb breaking force.. very confusing for someone who still does not have a great understanding of tippet and leader selection to begin with.

2 - Does color of the leader matter as much? and when might different colors be appropriate?

3 - Does the size of the ring on the end of the leader matter as much? (2 mm vs 3mm vs just a loop..)

4 - How do the different construction materials of the leader affect its performance / castability / longevity etc?

5 - What knots are appropriate / ideal for attaching tippet to the ring on the end of the leader? and does using a furled leader affect the amount of tippet one should use?

6 - How do you choose length of leader when using a furled leader?

Thank you for taking the time to take a look at these questions. Again, Ive read through the posts that come up in search, and not found all of the answers Ive been curious about. Thanks in advance for any advice. Cheers! - Zack
Old 12-04-2009, 10:56 AM
Administrator