The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2010, 02:09 PM

ksigtuck will become famous soon enoughksigtuck will become famous soon enough
Default Good beginner fly tying kit

I have been wanting to learn to tie my own flies for awhile now and have finally decided to find a good kit to get me started since the weather is keeping me inside a lot more than I like. I have no experience with fly tying so I am leaving it in the hands of all the fly tyers on here for suggestions on a good beginner kit to buy to get started. What kits would you recommend or would you purchase everything seperate? I don't mind to spend some money on this as I am sure that I will put it to use for many years to come. It has to beat paying $2 a fly in the fly shop
Any suggestions appreciated!
Thanks,
Tuck
Old 01-06-2010, 02:44 PM

ant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Good beginner fly tying kit

I got the Cabela's kit for about $50 and it seems to be a good starter kit. It has almost everything you need to start (no bobbin threader?!?!) and a book with some fly recipes in it.

I would also check out youtube for videos on how to tie and different patterns instead of getting pricey books.

-Ant
Old 01-06-2010, 03:48 PM