The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2011, 02:27 AM

gkrdesign is on a distinguished road
Default Why do you fly fish?

Hi there,

As you may have already seen on this forum, a post by me asking about watercraft for fly fishing. Thanks to all the people that replied, it was all real good feedback.

But for those that haven't, my name is Gordon Robinson and I am a student at Massey University. I am conducting a design/research assignment for my final year project for Bachelor of Design (Honours)(Industrial Design)

The project I am running is looking to explore the possible opportunities and innovation in the design of watercraft available for fly fishing, while investigating the experience discovered within the sport, and the performance issues found through research and investigation.

I invite you to participate in my research process and if you have any questions, to PM me on this forum.

This time there is only a couple of questions that I'd like to put forward, although it might be a bit harder than the other ones;

Why do you go fishing? or what motivates you to go fishing? What keeps you fishing after an unsuccessful run?

Regards,

Gordon
Old 04-03-2011, 04:58 AM

goldentrout is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Why do you fly fish?

I'm too chicken to go noodling for fish.
I'm too old and beat up to wrestle alligators.
Stink bait, well.....stinks!
I'm too slow to catch fish by hand.
I like to aggravate myself when the wind is blowing.
Gill netting is illegal in Wyoming.
Most of the water around here is too shallow to go spearfishing.
My wife and kids won't do it for me.

I keep going to get away from the wife and kids.

The End!

(hope this helps)
Old 04-03-2011, 07:10 AM