The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2011, 12:15 PM

dhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to beholddhayden is a splendid one to behold
Default Draining a drift boat

I'm a rookie with a drift boat, the storm this week put a lot of snow/ice into my boat.

To drain it, I lifted the tounge to let the water pour back toward the drain holes, but it doesn't get the boat at a steep enough angle (the hull touches ground aft).

What's the secret? Do you let the boat off the trailer enough using the trailer as a fulcrum?

Thanks.. Dave
Old 04-09-2011, 12:34 PM

Davo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to Davo Send a message via Skype™ to Davo
Default Re: Draining a drift boat

Dave

What make of drift boat? The method you describe works for my Clackacraft. You can also just push the boat a little ways off the trailer leaving it connected to the winch, Once you have it tipped up and hanging off the roller you can crank it off with the winch till the stern almost touches the ground. When I do this with my Clacka I have to then push down on the back of the boat to get the last little bit to drain. If you need more of an angle than that try to find a hill to park on, though that would seem extreme.