The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2010, 11:09 AM

gillh2o is on a distinguished road
Default Fluorocarbon tippet

I have been making my own leaders with Maxima now for about two years. I have been using Berkley Vanish fluoro for 4x and 3x tippet and have not had any noticeable problems. I'm thinking of using the new Berkley Fluorocarbon. My primary reason has been a cost factor instead of purchasing fluorocarbon fly fishing tippet. Do any of you think there is any difference in regular fluoro fishing line versus fly fishing tippet?

On another note I'm in my second winter of fly tying and starting to tie some #20 BWOs. As was pointed out on this board when I started...it is a curse.

Thanks, Johng
Old 02-27-2010, 11:42 AM

vsyogi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Fluorocarbon tippet

I've been using 8lb vanish as my tippet and havent had any problems. Although if your using dry's im sure you would want to use mono instead to keep it floating.
Old 02-27-2010, 11:57 AM

Brewmaster is just really niceBrewmaster is just really niceBrewmaster is just really niceBrewmaster is just really nice

The biggest difference between Fluorocarbon tippet material and regular fluorocarbon fishing line is 1) the diameter - tippet material is often thinner for the same test weight (not always!), and 2) tippet material is often more flexible (again, not always - depends on the brand). I have found some brands of Fluoro tippet material to be stiffer than Fluoro fishing line - you just have to try the fishing line against the tippet material you normally use.