The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/)
-   -   What's one new thing you'll learn? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/12910-whats-one-new-thing-youll-learn.html)

two_nymph_rig 03-06-2010 11:00 AM

What's one new thing you'll learn?

What is one new thing you will learn how to do this fly season? Last year was the first time i'd ever tried really fishing nymphs with weight added to the line. that is going to be my focus this year. how about everybody else?

---------- Post added at 11:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:57 AM ----------

i'd like to add to mine. i've never tried fishing a wet fly before either, so that might be a new experience.

Kerry Pitt 03-06-2010 11:06 AM

Re: What's one new thing you'll learn?

I am in the middle of a learning curve, experimenting with multi-fly rigs. In B.C. where I grew up I could only use one fly, now after many years of this it is a new experience that I need to improve on.....Kerry:)

Rip Tide 03-06-2010 11:40 AM

Within the last few days the ice has broken up in the large river coves which to me signals the beginning of the pre-spawn pike season.
So right now I got northern pike on the brain.
A short term goal is to learn a few new places. Hopefully spots where I can wade before flood season begins.
I wasn't able to fish yesterday, but I did check out a couple of new places that look promising.

Later in the season, I think I'd like to spend more time sight fishing. Not just on the salt water flats and in the surf, but on the local river's flats for carp

Bigfly 03-06-2010 11:49 AM

Kerry,SDF, That is why I enjoy this sport. Unlimited learning.
My "jones" right now is the switch rod thing, A whole new set of casts, mends.
That, and getting to fish I couldn't reach before. Gotta love it!

Jim

fyshstykr 03-06-2010 12:02 PM