The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2010, 02:09 PM

flyguyvr4 is on a distinguished road
Default Fishing Scenario question

Im still somewhat new to fly fishing and still learning a lot.

I was below the kaufer at a dam, and this dam had a spill way witch is called the "Kaufer". Im not clear if that is the real name but thats what they call it.

The water was somewhat murky and it was moving very fast. The sun was very bright and i assumed that the fish were sitting close to the botton because it was so bright out.

I was using a 7wt rod with a sinking tip fly line. when i would cast i would find that i was already 3/4 the way trough my drift before my line could even sink half way.

I then decided to put on some split shot but I knew I wasn't going to be able use a fly cast with this kind of weight on my line. So I just kind of over arm tossed it out into the current.

This seemed to get my line down but I felt I wasnt getting my line out far enough.

Can anyone help on what i can do differently. Is i still considered fly fishing if im using weigh such as split shot.

This is what i was fishing in: Click the image to open in full size.

Last edited by flyguyvr4; 03-22-2010 at 02:27 PM.
Old 03-22-2010, 07:53 PM

futuramille has much to be proud offuturamille has much to be proud offuturamille has much to be proud offuturamille has much to be proud offuturamille has much to be proud offuturamille has much to be proud offuturamille has much to be proud offuturamille has much to be proud offuturamille has much to be proud offuturamille has much to be proud of
Default Re: Fishing Scenario question