The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2010, 11:44 AM

we2fish is on a distinguished road
Default Fly lines costs

Hello: I'm new to this forum and have a ton of questions so bear with me. My wife and I have been flyfishing for a few years now, and by no means are we experts. We get out a few times a year and have fished up and the down the Western U.S. When we started we went to our local flyshop and bought Sage Rods with Scientific Angler reels. The did the set up for us. Put on our lines, leader,tippets etc. Since then, we've gotten pretty good at knot tying, I think. We took a few lessons and were on our way. We've had tons of fun and caught some pretty nice fish. Now we want to get a bit more serious about the sport so we plan to go to Durango, Co and contact Duranglers and hope to have a guide take us out. One of the questions that I have is, Why is there such a big difference in the cost of Flylines. We've had our for about 3 years now and want to replace them. My wife sees folks with colored lines so of course she wants to change to one of them. Is there a difference beween colored and white, which is what we have now. We have double tapered floating lines. I hope this isn't to dumb of a question but I hope to learn from you folks out there.
thanks in advance
Manny and Kathy
Old 04-17-2010, 12:24 PM

pegboy1 has a spectacular aura aboutpegboy1 has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Fly lines costs

Quote:
Originally Posted by we2fish View Post