The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/)
-   -   New to fly fishing! Help needed! (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/13575-new-fly-fishing-help-needed.html)

agl3712 04-30-2010 07:41 PM

New to fly fishing! Help needed!

Hey guys im not new to fishing but I am new to fly fishing. Anyways I would like to get start fly fishing this year. I really dont know where to start but can anybody give me some advice. Also I've been looking into buying these two ebooks. They both look amazing! So im wondering if any body has tried them? Please let me know if you can help and here are the links. Thanks

Fly Fishing From Scratch - The Web's Number One Fly Fishing Guide for Beginners!
and
Fly Fishing Guidebook :: Homepage

peregrines 04-30-2010 08:23 PM

Re: New to fly fishing! Help needed!

Hey Agl welcome to the forum, there's a bunch of friendly folks here that can help you get going.

You've got a big advantage over a lot of folks since you've been fishing for a while--- so you already know the drill about where to find fish. And once you get going, after a little casting practice, you'll have a blast.

I think you'll find that there are a ton of free resources on the web for you that you can find with a little googling, and there's a ton of info on this site in the FAQ section and past threads--- we get a lot of folks asking questions about starting up in fly fishing.

Tell us what kind of fish you'll be chasing and let us know where you are. That will tell folks a lot about the basic gear you'll need such as the "line weight" of (rod/reel/line) to look at. From there it's just a question of narrowing in on a budget---- and the good news is that there are a lot of great choices at different price points.