The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2011, 02:24 PM

john1966 is on a distinguished road
Default A funny thing happened....

After many years of fishing saltwater here in Fl. on the shallows. I have
decided to take up fly fishing.
So I am new to fly fishing and it has taken hold of me. Anyway I recently
purchased an orvis battenkill reel and a 8wt clearwater II rod. Not wanting to practice with the line that came on the reel. I purchased something very inexpensive to throw in the back yard. For a couple of weeks now I have been
practicing and just cant seem to get any distance. Ive tried all kind of techniques Ive seen or watched. None seemed to improve the distance. Yesterday I was once again trying to break down my casting form slow things down ect. when suddenly I happened to notice something about the fly line. I had pulled line from the plastic spool up thru the guides and never noticed I was casting the wrong end of the fly line.... ......
I can tell you once I removed all the line from the plastic spool and put the correct end thru the guides everything changed...

I am glad this forum is here. i have gotten many a good tip from you guys.
thanks again
John
Old 05-12-2011, 03:24 PM
Super Moderator

jpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: A funny thing happened....

John....1966...that's a good ...vintage
Old 05-12-2011, 03:27 PM