The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2010, 09:32 PM

bass_man is on a distinguished road
Default Question about fly lin w/looped end

I'm new to this so please bear with all the questions. I see some fly lines have a per-made loop at the end to attach your leader. On mine line it is attached with a nail knot, there is no loop so my question is if the leader. If and when I change my fly line down the road to a line with a loop on the end do I need to buy different leader to attach to the loop or do you tie some kind of knot to attach it to the loop? I have looked a bit at leaders did not see any with loops on them except for salt water stuff.
Old 05-17-2010, 10:08 PM

BigSky is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Question about fly lin w/looped end

Bassman, if you can, buy the kind with the loop in the end. You should see them where all of the other leaders are. As a matter of fact, it has been my experience that they are more available than those without the loop. To answer your other question, just tie a loop in the end of the leader. There are numerous methods of tying a good loop that are very easy.

There are a couple of good and easy examples at this link: http://www.animatedknots.com/indexfishing.php

Last edited by BigSky; 05-17-2010 at 10:10 PM. Reason: Added link.
Old 05-18-2010, 03:37 PM
Administrator