The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2010, 07:27 PM

wetworth is on a distinguished road
Question Sinking Line

I'm going back to PA next week to chase around some more trout. I would like to try wet flies for the first time and would like advice on what line to buy. I have a Cortland CL 4/5wt. Someone mentioned to me 4wt WF ST line would work with my rod, but I have no experience to go on.
Old 05-29-2010, 09:17 PM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: Sinking Line

Where are you going to fish? Knowing this will help with advice.

Secondly; wet flies is rather a broad description for your tackle choice, could you be more specific as in what type of flies. There are standard wet patterns, nymphs, and streamers. Not all situations call for a sinking line. Actually very few might need one. I'll wait to see where and what you are going to be up to.
Old 05-29-2010, 10:20 PM