The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2011, 12:47 PM

rangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to allrangerrich99 is a name known to all
Default Quick question about a 7wt. Rod

I recently received a Berkeley Technique Series 7 wt. 2 pc. rod as a gift from a good friend, and being a relative newbie, I don't know a thing about it. So, I thought maybe a few of you would be able to gve me some info.

Through my own initial observation, the rod appears to be a medium action, maybe a medium fast action. I want to throw heavy clouser-style minnows, and/or heavy nymph rigs, such as the sj/zeeb rig we throw at the wade-in at the Ferry. Throwing heavy streamers and C-minnows I'd like to throw maximum distance casts (under ideal conditions this would hopefully be 60-80 ft).

So, my question is, if I can't find 7 wt. line, should I go down a step to 6 wt. (i.e., Rio Grand, which is size and a half, or SA textured mastery GPX), or step up to 8wt line? Or should I just find some 7 wt for the performance I'm looking for?

Thanks in advance.

Peace.
"Three-fourths of the Earth's surface is water, and one-fourth is land. It is quite clear that the good Lord intended us to spend triple the amount of time fishing as taking care of the lawn." ~Chuck Clark
Old 05-19-2011, 12:52 PM

randyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to all
Default Re: Quick question about a 7wt. Rod

I don't think you'll have any problem finding a 7-weight line.