The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2010, 11:54 AM

utc2011 is on a distinguished road
Default fly fishing massachusetts

Hey,

I am a beginner to fly fishing, and though I joined this forum only a year ago, I've learned so much from everyone here. I haven't seen any posts about fishing in Massachusetts though.
Does anyone here fish in Massachusetts and have any suggestions about rivers? I would like to avoid those slow, warm, rivers that are characteristic of MA.

I was thinking about the Squannacook, Nissitissit, or Stillwater Rivers, has anyone fished at these rivers? Are they the fast flowing riffle/run kind of streams?

Thanks a lot for all the advice everyone. Its truly been invaluable
Old 05-31-2010, 02:22 PM

sxm has a spectacular aura aboutsxm has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: fly fishing massachusetts

I too am new to fresh-water fly fishing. Most of my fishing has been confined to the ponds and lakes of Eastern MA. Not as sexy as trout fishing, but lots of fun.

As for rivers, I understand the Westfiled is great with the best stretch being Rte 9 Cummington and into the Pork Barrell and to rte143, Rte 20 above and below BG Sports. If It doesn't rain this Sunday, I'll be out that way and plan to give it a try.

The other one is the river at Quabbin reservoir, on Ware Rd. / Rt 9.

Department of Conservation and Recreation

MassWildlife - Fish Stocking Schedules

Where in MA are you located?
Old 05-31-2010, 02:32 PM

Hi,
I live in Waltham Massachusetts, and I hope to fish somewhere less than an hour away. I have seen videos of the westfield river, and it looks beautiful! I hope you enjoy your trip.
Old 05-31-2010, 02:47 PM

sxm has a spectacular aura aboutsxm has a spectacular aura about