The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2010, 08:49 AM

ehavs79 is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie here needs help

Hey all,

New to the forum and pretty new to fly fishing and had some questions for anyone willing to listen and help.

1.) I have done my basic reading of entomology and have a general understanding of what a mayfly is and what a caddis is however recognizing them on the stream has proven difficult. Any ideas or thoughts as to what I should be doing to get a better idea of what the fish are biting on?

2.) When it comes to organizing a fly box what is the best method? There are so may different fly patterns I guess i am trying to get an idea of what are the basic ones and what sizes should I be looking for. Right now I am not tying my own flies but will eventually. For now i am relegated to buying them at a premium. I understand that this is an open ended question as this could be different for everyone, but I am just looking for a starting point as to what patterns I should be focusing on and sizes to buy as well. I fish in the New York area for trout mostly.

Thanks
Old 06-01-2010, 09:00 AM
Super Moderator

jpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Newbie here needs help

to the forum.