The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2010, 07:29 PM

jackd001 is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie with a question

Okay so I'm new to fly fishing and want to know your opinions on this rod and reel. I'm thinking of buying an Islander IR3 (Islander Reels: Products) to put on a Sage flight 586-4 (Sage Fly Fishing - Flight Series & Outfits). What is the difference between large arbor and standard arbor? I'm going to be fishing trout and its a 5 weight rod with a 5-6 weight reel. I'm a total beginner so really any advice is cherished. Thanks
Old 06-02-2010, 07:44 PM

bobbyc21fish is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Newbie with a question

Hi Jack,

You will get more advanced aswers than this but there are a few differences between standard and large arbor reels. First, large arbors with hold more line and backing then the standard arbor. Also, you will be able to retrieve line faster with the large arbor reel.

As for the rods, a 9foot 5weight is in my opinion the best all around rod. Im sure many other people would agree. It is exactly what I fish with. I also use a large arbor reel.

Hope this helped a little.

Bobby
Old 06-02-2010, 09:14 PM

So would a large arbor reel make more sense? I live in Bayfield, WI and some of the rivers up here do get kind of tight which is why I was thinking about going 8'6'' for my rod size but is that 4 inches really going to make a huge difference in casting and just overall performance?

---------- Post added at 07:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:58 PM ----------