The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2010, 01:25 PM

fats is on a distinguished road
Default Orvis Zero Gravity & Orvis BBSIII?

Hi, I'm new to Fly fishing and have ben lurking in this forum for a bit and have a question. I can buy a 2 year old Orvis zero gravity 8'6 5 wt 4 piece and a orvis BBSIII w/ backing/line for $350. The seller states that it was lightly used only twice. Is this a good deal? I was looking to Spend between $300-$400 for a beginner set up before this became available.
Thanks for the help.
Old 06-07-2010, 09:05 PM

ghocevar has much to be proud ofghocevar has much to be proud ofghocevar has much to be proud ofghocevar has much to be proud ofghocevar has much to be proud ofghocevar has much to be proud ofghocevar has much to be proud ofghocevar has much to be proud ofghocevar has much to be proud of
Default Re: Orvis Zero Gravity & Orvis BBSIII?

I haven't fished the Zero Gravity, but before the Helios came out about 3 years ago, this was Orvis' top of the line product.

I think its a pretty fair deal and if you like the way it casts, then I would pick it up.
Old 06-07-2010, 09:21 PM
Joni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond repute

WOW! You don't go for it I will!!! Seriously, that is a great rod. I have the four Piece 6 wt in the 7.5 flex. LOVE that rod.
The BBS III is more for a 6/7 isn't it? No matter I guess cause it is light.
Old 06-07-2010, 09:41 PM