The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2011, 03:45 PM

silver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond repute
Default Hello from a newbie

I'm new to this BB but old to fly fishing and fly fishing on the internet. I've fished all my life starting in the early 1950's, I caught my first trout at about age 9 in New Jersey, USA.

I have lived in every time zone in the USA and now I reside in the midwestern USA in the State of Wisconsin. I started fly fishing in the 1970's and learned from Gary Borger. We are now good friends. I retired back in 1999 at the age of 55 and have not looked back. I still get job offers but they go into the circular file.

I got into writing about fly fishing on the internet back in the late 1980's before the WWW and Netscape Navigator. I was one of 100 trial families connected by modem to the University of Wisconsin Internet backbone in my city.

I signed up on the Flyfish@ mailing list soon after that. Email was all we fly fishers had. No photos or videos or blogs. Just some guys and gals around a computer emailing each other as if we were sitting at a fly shop and exchanging views. I was asked to write the Basic Fly Fishing FAQs for Flyfish@ by the list owner in the 1990s.

I found this BB when I began posting on the British FFF. I'm glad to meet everyone and hope to stay awhile.