The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2006, 10:06 PM

Lrng2Fly is on a distinguished road
Default Hello, Im new

Hello everyone. I've been looking into fly fishing for a couple of weeks now and I would like to get started. As most of you know getting started is the hardest part so please I would like some suggestions.

First, I would like to say that i am new at this so i will be purchasing a cheap fly rod kit. I do not want to spend a lot of money until i am getting the hang of this more. Just taking baby steps. I found a farely cheap one at Gander Mountain for like $70. Comes with rod, reel, line, nail clipper, and some flies.

Now my confusion is what is the difference between the tippet and the leader? Do I need to use both? Or can I just knot a mono line to the fly line (live pictures will greatly help)? What flies will float and what will sink? If i decide to sink or float do I need to change lines too?

I know these are some "newbie" questions but please bare with me. I am glad i found a good resourceful site that will hopefully further my education about fly fishing.

Thanks.
Old 09-19-2006, 10:16 PM

gregorykicks is on a distinguished road

A leader is tapered. It starts out very thick mono filament and is knot less down to the tip. The larger the number the smaller the line (6x is smaller than 3x). You will need one of these to connect to your fly line. Tippet is used to customize/restore your leader. After fishing for a while and changing and loosing flies, your leader will have shrunk in length and gained width. By tying on a few feet of tippet you have saved yourself from having to buy a new leader, or if you want to downsize your leader (make the line thinner) just add some tippet of the size you wish.