The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2011, 12:28 PM

spaceod is on a distinguished road
Default fly fishing newbie - rod question

Hi All,

Just to get this out of the way - i am a complete fly fishing newbie (in fact, i am yet to hold / use a fly fishing setup).

Since i get to spend a lot of my weekends in the western Catskills (NY) i get to see and quite a few people fly fishing out there and, well, it looks like a lot of fun.

So, as an impulse buy, i got a Redington Crosswater Fly Fishing Outfit on a pretty decent discount online just the other day. Only after that did i start reading about peculiarities of rods / reels / lines and realized that the rod / reel combo i got is a 8wt.

according to some publications i found online, this is considered a "heavy" rod and is usually used for larger catch.

So here are my few questions:
is this rod not the right thing for a beginner?

What is the relationship between rod and line weight rating ie, can i use a lighter line with this rod?

if i was after large / small mouth bass as well as trout, will changing the line help?

Thanks for any input and excuse my ignorance in the matter,

~a
Old 06-13-2011, 12:50 PM
Super Moderator

jpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: fly fishing newbie - rod question