The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2006, 05:14 PM

salmonfever is on a distinguished road
Default attach leader to fly line

Hi. I am new to fly fishing and i am trying to perfect some basic knots important to fly fishing. My problem is that i can never get the nail knot right . I spent a lot of time practicing but nothing. My question is this , I s there any other good knot for attaching fly line to leader. Can i create a perfect loop on the fly line and one on the leader and then use loop to loop connection?
Thanks
Old 10-09-2006, 05:49 PM

dukeofurl is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Re: attach leader to fly line

Hi salmon,
I don't see any reason why you couldn't use the perfection loop as you have mentioned here. I think that you'll find that most people nowadays use a loop to loop connection. It allows for much more efficiency and quickness in changing leaders. If your throwing dry flies on a 5x leader and your wanting to switch to a bugger for example you'll want to switch out to a 2-3x leader to turn that bugger over without twisting your leader and tippet to a big mess. That being said there are a number of different options for connecting a leader to fly line.
One thing I would invest in is a "Tie Fast" Nail Knot Tool. Splurge the $5 bucks and get one. It's a handy little gadget that makes nail knotting a piece of cake.
Well worth the money.

#1 Nail Knot a piece of non memory heavy monofilament 6 inches in length to the end of your fly line. Put a perfection loop in the end of that mono and then loop on your leaders as you so desire.