The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2010, 12:12 PM

ip107 is on a distinguished road
Default Issues with new line

Hey all, I'm fairly new to fly casting. Bought a st. Croix rio santo 5wt outfit. I decided to change the fly line with Allen 5wt floating (which is fine). My problem is, the load won't load at all, as iff it's a 3wt line. Can't double haul or get any distance. It's almost like it's way under lined. Is this normal with different line types/brands? Can I possibly use a 6wt line to help the rodoad better? Hope this doesn't sound too odd. Just confusing me. Thanks for any info or advice.
Old 06-19-2010, 01:25 PM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Issues with new line

ip107: This is pretty common, it is always a good idea to ask a fly shop or someone with experience with the line before buying. A six wt line should solve your problem.

Larry
Old 06-19-2010, 01:35 PM

seajay will become famous soon enoughseajay will become famous soon enough

Being a newb to fly fishing. There is a tread here were Jason accidentally shipped the wrong line. I would make sure that it is indeed a 5 not a 3.
Not to hijack your post. But how can one tell the difference between line weight. Is there a standard for line Diameter?
Old 06-19-2010, 02:47 PM