The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2011, 01:08 AM

kevthebassman is a jewel in the roughkevthebassman is a jewel in the roughkevthebassman is a jewel in the roughkevthebassman is a jewel in the rough
Default I'm thinking about a 7 or 8 wt, recommendations?

I'm looking into picking up a 7 or 8 weight rod, (leaning towards an 8, but not stuck on it) I will be using it mostly for tossing big bass bugs and streamers for smallmouth with occasional use for putting big streamers in front of trout on Taneycomo in southern Missouri.

I'm thinking I will be lining it with a sink tip line to help get deeper in the fast riffles I favor fishing. I know that some rods can be finicky about casting these lines, but I am a novice and would appreciate any information I can glean on that subject.

I've got a 5 weight for trout and it has been pulling double duty chasing smallmouth in the rivers and largemouth and panfish in ponds, but it seems to me that on the water I fish, I need to be throwing bigger flies, getting more distance, and getting deeper. I had dreams of fishing more for trout when I bought my first fly rod, but the realities of time, distance to trout water, and the cost of gasoline means I've been spending my limited time closer to home going after smallies.

With all of that in mind, I would also like to keep the cost of the rod and line (I have a spare reel already) in the $200-300 range, anything over $400 would be hard to justify.

I appreciate your recommendations. There is a dizzying array of fly fishing products available, and the wealth of knowledgeable people on here has really helped me in the past to select what I need.
Old 08-26-2011, 01:58 AM