The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2010, 09:47 PM

jackd001 is on a distinguished road
Default A newbies dumb question

Okay this question is no doubt going to make me sound like an absolute beginner but I am so bare with me. I am looking at buying a new fly reel and it asks me right or left hand retrieve. I hold my rod in my right hand so would that mean that my left hand is the one retrieving the line? I would imagine it is but I'm not certain.
Old 06-20-2010, 10:02 PM

raindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud of
Default Re: A newbies dumb question

There are no dumb questions..... On that note, you will find that the people that hang around here are all very helpful and knowledgeable. Fire away....

So, to answer your question-- yes, the reel would be left hand retrieve..... TYPICALLY..... I actually know of one guy who casts right hand, left hand is his line hand and his reels are right hand retrieve. I suppose if he puts a fish on the reel, he just switches the rod to his left hand and cranks with the right.

I'd say play around in an open plot of land and just see what feels best to you.
Old 06-20-2010, 10:20 PM

boser has a spectacular aura aboutboser has a spectacular aura aboutboser has a spectacular aura about