The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/)
-   -   Sage FLi and Launch Fly Rods (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/1854-sage-fli-launch-fly-rods.html)

indieangler 04-04-2007 09:38 AM

Sage FLi and Launch Fly Rods

Hello,

I'm fairly new to fly fishing and a first timer on the forum. I've been fishing with a pretty crappy outfit so far. It's gotten the job done, but it's a no name cheap $75 rig.

I'm about to buy two new fly rods tonight. I'm looking at getting a Sage FLi 7' 3 weight (2 pieces), for several small streams in my area, and a Sage Launch 9' 6 weight (4 pieces) for a bit bigger fishing and a travel rod. I've never bought anything made by Sage before but of course have heard great things.

Does anyone have any advice regarding these two lower end Sage fly rods? I thought I'd check around before dropping off the bucks. I really love the way the rods look, they look beautiful, but I thought I would ask and see if anyone thinks I'm making a mistake by purchasing a lower end model Sage rod. I think they will work very well and have heard good things, but thought I'd throw a feeler out here to see if anyone had complaints before I make the order tonight.

Thanks!
CF

tie one on 04-04-2007 10:36 AM

Re: Sage FLi and Launch Fly Rods

Sage are awesome rods ! You will not be sorry
you went with them. Just curious as to why you
would choose a shorter rod for a 3 wt ?? Is there
clearance problems on the smaller streams ? I have
never used a fly rod that short. Always heard that
shorter rods are harder to cast. My 3wt is 8'6", but
that's me. If your new to flyfishing you'll find that
you might like using rods others may not like, but
that's the great diversity of this sport. Try things
out, then make your choice. If you can check out
others rods at your local shop. One rod may work