The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2007, 11:08 AM

fishwiz4 is on a distinguished road
Default Red River near Fargo

I am curious if anyone here has ever fished the Red River near Fargo, ND. i am a student at NDSU in Fargo, and i am planning on spending some time at the river mainly for some practice with my casting, but i want to know if there is much for catchable fish in this area of the river. what types of flies should i be using, what species will be my target, ect.

Also, anyone know of any other places very near fargo that would be good places to take my fly gear to?

thanks for any input.

steve

-Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
Old 04-13-2007, 11:16 AM
Prospecting for Trout

Piscator will become famous soon enoughPiscator will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Red River near Fargo

You may consider something in the land of a thousand lakes and a trillion mosquito's. I couldn't find much about FF in ND doing a quick search. I'm sure there is something out there though. Check on the fishing in MN and you should find something good.

Good luck,
Terry
Old 04-13-2007, 01:07 PM

fishwiz4 is on a distinguished road

Thanks for the reply.

I actually fish MN all the time. I live near the twin cities and I go to school in Fargo. I just want to learn to fish moving water, and to find a "decent" spot that is very close. The nearest lakes in MN are at least 30 min away, compared to the red river which I can easily walk to. That’s the only reason I asked. When I plan on fishing for more that just a couple hours, I will go to a lake near Detroit Lakes, MN (about 45 min away).

I just figure that there has to be some sort of fish in the river, but maybe I am wrong about that.