The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2011, 08:04 PM

cattech84 is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie rod??

Hey guys, I'm new to flyfishing and still trying to wrap my head around everything. I live in west Virginia, and I was wondering what weight/length rod I should get?. Like I said I'm new, so please go easy on me. Thanks for any help guys.
Old 10-10-2011, 08:46 PM

wannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Newbie rod??

It really depends on what you'll be fishing for but a good all-around outfit to start with is a 9 foot 5wt medium action rod/reel combo such as the Redington Crosswater sold by Reelflyrod.com advertised on this forum. Good luck!
Old 10-10-2011, 08:58 PM

russellb is a name known to allrussellb is a name known to allrussellb is a name known to allrussellb is a name known to allrussellb is a name known to allrussellb is a name known to all

I agree, the 9ft 5 weight is a good starting choice. If you think that mountain trout in smaller streams will be your passion I would move more toward a 8 ft 4 weight as the shorter length and lighter weight make small streams more fun.

A quick point to think on as you begin your journey- a medium action rod versus a fast action rod will be easier for a new fly fisher to feel the rod load. Gaining this ability is key to becoming a proficient caster as feeling the rod load up on the back cast is central to the timing of the forward cast.