The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2007, 10:08 PM

JayO is on a distinguished road
Newbie Questions

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to fishing with a fly and have been fishing ( bait cast ) for about 17 years now. A friend of mine sold me an Albright 9'/8# with a Guide Series X3 #7/8 for a real good price so i said what the heck... Anyway, after picking up a few books and about three week's ( shadow casting, roll casting ) of an hour a day practice i picked it up good, so i thought!

My first question is with the tippet, is it normal to beat the hell out of it when you first start out? I can last about a half hour before it turns into a train wreck and i figured it was my stalling at the back cast or the knot that i used to tie the leader with ( surgeon ) ... should i try another? I am dead set and keep reminding myself of where my rod is and giving the line time to play out with my stalling but every now and then the tippet hit's my pole. I am using Lefty Kreh WF-8-F with an 8 weight tippet. I plan on using this here in the Gulf where i live for saltwater and playing around at the spring creek.

I know this is a kinda long post, but i gotta tell ya'... i tossed the bait cast rig and am not even looking at it after three week's of using a fly rig, BEAUTIFUL feeling and even though i train wreck now and then i am beside myself for discovering fly fishing!

Train wrecking my leader, can anyone help?

Wonderful forum i might add!

Jay
Old 04-28-2007, 10:49 AM

tbrillinger223 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Newbie Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayO View Post
Hi everyone,