The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2011, 06:54 PM

lthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of lightlthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of lightlthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of lightlthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of lightlthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of lightlthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Advice for Beginners

Reading over the thread "Does Anyone Fly Cast Anymore" got me to thinking....

If someone were to come up to you and say "I'm just getting into fly fishing, I can roll cast and my basic cast is coming along, but I don't know which fishing technique to start learning first". What would you recommend to them?

-Ian
Old 11-27-2011, 07:13 PM

tbblom is a splendid one to beholdtbblom is a splendid one to beholdtbblom is a splendid one to beholdtbblom is a splendid one to beholdtbblom is a splendid one to beholdtbblom is a splendid one to beholdtbblom is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Advice for Beginners

I'm only at the end of my third year, so there's my disclaimer.

Learning to stalk fish and approach the water quietly was more important than casting where I usually fish. After that learning to not cast into snags
Next would be learning what kind of places the fish like to hang out, ie in the riffles or in slow water depending on time of year.
After that matching a hatch? Seems like as a beginner throwing an elk caddis with a prince nymph will suffice all day long to catch some fish.
Tippet selection: 7x is a waste of time, money, or flies when you start out.
5x will generally let you catch a lot of fish...
I wish I had someone to inform me about the various casting methods earlier... could have saved me some effort and time. Mending and hauling especially.