The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/)
-   -   Newby needs help (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/2116-newby-needs-help.html)

hunter991 06-26-2007 07:30 AM

Newby needs help

all,

I am just starting to fly fish. I recieved a nice St. Croix rod over the weekend and would like to give it a try. I have been fishing for many years but mostly musky and other fresh water so that is where my experience is.

I don't have a clue on how to fly fish. I just picked up reel for the new rod but i have no idea what kind of line to use.

I am hoping someone can tell me some basics to start with. I remember the line being coated with something when i have seen people fish in the past. Can someone help me get strung up so i can give this a shot this coming weekend? Any other tips would be most helpful. don't want to look to foolish doing this for the first time.

Frank Whiton 06-26-2007 11:22 AM

Re: Newby needs help

Hi hunter991,

Your best bet is to get a good book or video. The Casting videos will drastically cut your learning curve. A local fly shop can be a big help. If you buy the fly line from them they will usually set up your reel for you. You will need a Weight Forward, tapered, floating line. Scientific Anglers, Rio, and Cortland all make good lines. Don't buy the cheapest line. A good line will be in the $60 range. You need backing, leaders and flies.

Here is a site with some good information for a beginner. I don't agree with every think they do but it will help you get started.

Also try this RIO site.

error4o4 06-26-2007 12:50 PM