The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2007, 06:26 PM

Roast is on a distinguished road
Default Help The New Guy

Hello Everyone! I am just getting started in the sport of fly fishing. After a lot of research through the internet, I just pick up my first fly rod and reel. I decided on a TFO 8'6" 5 wt signature fly rod and an okuma slv reel. I live about 1.5 hours away from Calgary, Alberta, Canada, and have heard great things about TFO though this site as well as others.

I am looking for suggestions on other fly fishing resources/websites where I can learn more about the sport. So far I have found this fourm, sexyloops and a site called hooked on flies. Are there any others that you can suggest?

I will be primarily fishing trout on the Old Man, Bow and Red Deer Rivers (Southern Alberta and British Columbia). I am looking for information on what types of flies you use with floating versus sinking line. I went with a floating line and am looking to buy another spool with sinking line. Can you use any fly with floating line? Or are there certain flies that work best with floating versus sinking line? So far I haven't found any info on the net... I am looking for generalizations if there are such things.

Any information is greatly appreciated
Old 07-08-2007, 09:02 PM

OregonStreams is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Help The New Guy