The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2011, 07:38 PM

jmann28 is on a distinguished road
Smile New guy from Michigan. Help me get started!?

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to the sport and would love some help to get me started in the right direction. I have a fly rod I got from bass pro a couple years ago and learned how to cast from my uncle. I'd say I'm below average in my casting skills as I've really only messed around on the lagoon catching pan fish. I want to get started fly fishing for trout and salmon, but have no clue where too begin. Ive heard of good spots I'm northern Michigan, but that's as much as I know. Can somebody point me in the right direction as far as gear, and some rivers/areas to look at? I'm an avid bow hunter and know how it goes with not wanting to give up your honey holes, but any help at all would really be awesome. I'd like to get my younger brother who is 10 started with me because he really wants to start it fly fishing as well. One last thing, and this is probably the dumbest question ever asked on this website, but is there seasons for trout and salmon? Forgive the stupidness!
Old 12-23-2011, 08:03 PM

auntrout will become famous soon enough
Default Re: New guy from Michigan. Help me get started!?

The info you are looking for regarding seasons can be found here:

DNR - 2011 Michigan Fishing Guide
Old 12-23-2011, 09:00 PM

wannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to behold