The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2011, 07:58 PM

lthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of lightlthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of lightlthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of lightlthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of lightlthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of lightlthrnk03 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Fly tying kit

I'm just curious as to everyones thoughts about this fly tying kit. I'm just getting into it and don't know if its better to buy piece by piece or a kit to start with.

Fly Tying Tool Kit for Beginners / Orvis Fly Tying Kit -- Orvis
Old 12-24-2011, 08:20 PM

grassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nicegrassonfly is just really nice
Default Re: Fly tying kit

i bought the bass pro shops bass kit and that started me off well so i would recomend that because it includes everything plus the materials and dvd for the flies
Old 12-24-2011, 08:25 PM

fire instructor is a splendid one to beholdfire instructor is a splendid one to beholdfire instructor is a splendid one to beholdfire instructor is a splendid one to beholdfire instructor is a splendid one to beholdfire instructor is a splendid one to behold

If you live anywhere near an Orvis store, they routinely have that kit on-sale, and if you sign-up for their free one-day tying class, they give you a $50 certificate towards the purchase of that kit.

On-line, they've had the kit on-sale several times over the last few months, so I wouldn't pay the listed price. Wait for he next sale, if that's the kit that you really want.

"A leader with great passion and few skills always outperforms a leader with great skills and little passion." Chief Rick Lasky
Old 12-24-2011, 08:36 PM