The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Discussion (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/)
-   -   Help! Waders VS Wading Boots? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-discussion/2229-help-waders-vs-wading-boots.html)

sreymr 07-21-2007 01:28 AM

Help! Waders VS Wading Boots?

I'm relatively new to fly fishing, and I'm ready to invest in proper footwear (old tennis shoes and wool socks are no longer cutting it for me). I fish mostly in the Southern U.S. (TN and NC) in cold water with a decent current.

Cold water on my legs doesn't bother me...it can be refreshing in summer, but my feet are nearly numb after a few hours.

Would I be better off with waders or wading boots? What sort of waders or boots?

Thanks!

ezamora 07-21-2007 02:49 AM

Re: Help! Waders VS Wading Boots?

do you mean bootfoot waders versus sticking foot waders with separate wading boots? i'd suggest stocking foot waders with separate wading boots. for summer time when the water feels nice on the legs you could wear just the boots with a neoprene sock like the simms. the neoprene socks take up the extra space usually taken by the neoprene booties on the stocking foot waders. boots also offer extra ankle support. but i don't fish your area so am not in tune with the specific needs. when wet wading with this system, water will eventually get into the boots but the neoprene layer adds some warmth like a diver's wet suit. if you wanted to stay completely dry, depending on the water levels you fish, maybe stocking foot hip boots would work too. how dep do you wade?

eric
fresno, ca.

troutman 07-21-2007 06:52 PM