The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2012, 06:27 PM

rschreck will become famous soon enoughrschreck will become famous soon enough
Default Upgrading already....

So last year I started a thread asking for suggestions on a rod and reel as a complete beginner. I ended up buying a rod and reel from Orvis and it did it's job...I'm addicted and know how to cast (using the term know lightly).

Well less than a year later, the Orvis set up is soon to be passed on and I am moving on up.

My new question: Has anyone casted the Scott A4 yet? I've heard it would be a great rod for the fishing here in Colorado. I'm thinking a 9', 5wt A4 with most likely an Nautilus reel.

Pretty sure it'll be a great set up but I'm open to suggestions. As for budget, I'm pretty set on no more than $700 for rod and reel. It would be more but I am also hellbent on trying out Tenkara fishing so I have money set aside for that too.

I appreciate any help.
Old 01-13-2012, 06:32 PM

wt bash has a brilliant futurewt bash has a brilliant futurewt bash has a brilliant futurewt bash has a brilliant futurewt bash has a brilliant futurewt bash has a brilliant futurewt bash has a brilliant futurewt bash has a brilliant futurewt bash has a brilliant futurewt bash has a brilliant futurewt bash has a brilliant future
Default Re: Upgrading already....

If it aint broke don't fix it.
Old 01-13-2012, 07:11 PM

wannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to behold