The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2007, 09:36 PM

Surfin the Susquehanna is on a distinguished road
Default Line Terminology

I am totally new to Fly fishing. In fact, I have not yet received a setup that I ordered through a local shop, so I have nothing in front of me. I have been trying to read up on this forum as well as other sights so I have an Idea of the basics before I go for my lessons (when the stuff actually shows up). I read about backing, Fly Line, Leader, and tippet. I was real confused about Tipett and leader and the difference between the 2 until I read the recent post about tippett and leader and I understand and it makes sense. Now I need to find out the purpose of Backing. Can anyone help me make sense of this... as trivial as it may be?
Old 07-31-2007, 10:43 PM

Flyfisher for men is a glorious beacon of lightFlyfisher for men is a glorious beacon of lightFlyfisher for men is a glorious beacon of lightFlyfisher for men is a glorious beacon of lightFlyfisher for men is a glorious beacon of lightFlyfisher for men is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Line Terminology

I'm no expert on this, but backing serves the purpose of giving you extra line in case a fish runs. Some fish take a fly and go; if you don't have backing, they'll reach the end of the fly line and break off or snap the rod. backing is a lot cheaper than fly line and is much thinner in diameter. it allows you a lengthier reserve of line for much less cost than if you strung the reel entirely with fly line.