The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2012, 12:20 AM

greenfish4 is on a distinguished road
Default question for the eastern Sierra guys

This forum is GREAT, you guys were so helpful with my float tube question i thought I would ask you another

I am relatively new to fly fishing, been going the last two years, but really got interested in it last summer. I primarily fish the eastern sierra's from Crowley/mammoth up to Bridgeport. For the last two years I have grabbed my gear and just bought whatever was working at one of the local fly shops, but this year I would love to start stoking up early on flies and gear. Also it will be the first year I will do the lake thing out of a float tube.

So my question is basically what flies would you guys recommend having on hand anytime you head towards the Sierra's. I know it is a HUGE question, but I am sure there must be some basics that should always be brought along. I sure appreciate all the help, I am so excited I ended up on this forum!
Old 01-27-2012, 11:46 AM

mikel has much to be proud ofmikel has much to be proud ofmikel has much to be proud ofmikel has much to be proud ofmikel has much to be proud ofmikel has much to be proud ofmikel has much to be proud ofmikel has much to be proud ofmikel has much to be proud ofmikel has much to be proud of
Default Re: question for the eastern Sierra guys

Well, I can tell you what I haul, but whether that's the definitive box is another question. Google Mammoth Fly Fishing adventures and get on Harry Blackburn's web page. He has a dandy hatch chart.

I carry:

Dries
parachute adams
coachmen or trudes (brookies love them)
BWO
beetles
hoppers
Griffith's gnat
black gnat
Ants
assorted caddis
stimulators
midge dries