The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2007, 01:35 PM

DLM is on a distinguished road
Default Complete Newbie

Admin, If there's some other forum for complete newbie type questions please relocate this there.

Tried to post this a minute a go and something went wrong. Sorry if it's double-posted.

Please forgive the complete lack of the right lingo.

After a couple years of so-so salmon fishing, wishing I could drift a bait under rapalla-eating trees, wishing I could throw a lighter bait, I finally bought a cheap fly outfit.

Man is this fun! Popped a few flies off, fixed my back cast and haven't popped one since.

Targeted a dinner plate at about 25 ft in the front yard. Switched to a trash can lid. Feeling much better about my abilities now.

Got a couple pan fish with a popper over a weed bed, so I tied on a fly and headed for the river.

Thew a fly about where I wanted to. Drifted over a nice hole, under the branches of a tree holding 4 or 5 rapallas (one was mine from a previous trip).

Had a couple rolls, but didn't hook anything.

Now the questions:

The first couple casts the fly looked like it should. After a few times, the fly wouldn't float anymore. If I worked it a lot before placing it it would dry a little and float some.

The same thins happened with the last 10-15 ft of line.

Is there some obvoius procedure I'm missing?

Is this a cheap equipment issue? rookie issue? or?

They don't wax flies to keep them afloat do they?

Is there some Orvis hip-mounted blow-dryer that I havent heard about.

Also, Is there some website that addresses the MOST BASIC types of issues for rookie fly fishing? Like the "little golden book of flyfishing" online?

Thanks in Advance,

-Dan
Old 09-05-2007, 01:48 PM