The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2012, 05:50 PM

whitemountianmatt is on a distinguished road
Default Reasonably Priced line?

Hello. Im kinda new to purchacing fly fishing equipment. I was wanting to know if anybody could tell me somwhere to purchace 000 flyline for a reasonable price. $80 on ebay is out of the question. It is for a very small reel from Penfishingrods.com and I couldnt see needing more than 30/40 yards of the stuff.
Old 02-26-2012, 08:14 PM

whitemountianmatt is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Reasonably Priced line?

I don't even know if it "has" to be 000. Anybody know what I should look for? I need a very then fly line for a telescopic micro fly rod.
Old 02-26-2012, 08:50 PM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute

You might want to read this post from the FAQ sub-forum
http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/fo...t-ratings.html
Fly rods work best when the line is matched to the rod and modern rods most often have a notation above the grip of what size to try.
There are exceptions but standard line sizes are numbered 1 through 12 (plus a few more) and most are a standard 90' in length
Old 02-26-2012, 10:02 PM

cw76 has a spectacular aura aboutcw76 has a spectacular aura about