The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Rip Tide

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 06:21 PM

50fish will become famous soon enough50fish will become famous soon enough
Default Dropper setup

Couple questions. You just starting your day with a dropper setup. What first two flys you usually start with. Also if you use an egg pattern or greenie or something bright colored, do you go with 2 bright colored flys, or say 1 egg and regular nymph? Be gentle, I'm still learning
Old 02-27-2012, 06:49 PM

jcw355 is just really nicejcw355 is just really nicejcw355 is just really nicejcw355 is just really nice
Default Re: Dropper setup

Recently have used march brown dry/ midge dropper and Indicator Adams dry/ midge dropper. Have taken fish on the dry and dropper but more on the dropper. Sometimes I use the dry fly only because it lands softer on the water. Other times it is because I'm seeing mayflies.
Old 02-27-2012, 06:51 PM

raindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud of

good good questions. my answer isn't going to give you much for solid 'do this' or 'do that'.... What I will say is: both parts need to imitate a natural food source. So, the answer imho, is going to vary between season/ time of day/ location/ etc. A popular summer/ late fall rig consists of a hopper up top and a wet/ nymph underneath that is present in the water at the time.