The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2007, 02:24 PM

foodguy is on a distinguished road
Default Dry or Wet ??

I am new to fly fishing and am learning so please bear with me when i ask reeal dumb questions ok? How can you tell by looking at a fly if it is a dry style fly or a wet style? I will be going out for the first time this weekend.
Old 09-07-2007, 03:29 PM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton
Default Re: Dry or Wet ??

Hi foodguy,

Here is some information that may help you out. There are no dumb questions. Everyone has had this same question at some time in their fly fishing career.

The top fly is a dry fly. The dry fly floats in the surface film of the water. It is suspended by the stiff hackle behind the head and the tail on the back of the fly. In some dry flies the body also sits in the surface film. If you want to see how this works fill up a glass with water and sit a dry fly on the surface. This dry fly has a white hair wing that adds in seeing the fly.