The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2010, 09:00 PM

Tracker12 will become famous soon enoughTracker12 will become famous soon enough
Default Vest or Pack

I never thought I would want a vest again but now I am reconsidering. I have been using a pack for several years now but am getting tired of my gear always getting wet. What do you all prefer.
Old 07-10-2010, 09:07 PM

kg6bws is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Vest or Pack

Both for different things.

Chest pack for float tubes and going light (ie. hiking, backpacking).

Vest for everything else.

I carry my fly rod and a spinning rod in my truck, it just stays in it. Thinking of transferring a few things over to the chest pack so it will take up less room. I generally just prefer the vest, I find it easier to get to stuff, compared to the chest pack.
Old 07-10-2010, 09:50 PM

cattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to all

I purchased a pack about six months ago. The Madison Pod pack by Wright & McGill. I love it. I have to say there are times that I wish I had a vest but not very often. I can keep a hydration bladder in my pack as well as snacks and that keeps me from coming back to my truck as often.

It's not what I catch when I'm fishing, it's what I lose that matters to me...
----------------------------------------
Good decisions come from experience...Experience comes from bad decisions...
Old 07-10-2010, 11:20 PM
Administrator