The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2007, 01:05 PM

ducktrooper is on a distinguished road
Default reading your strike indicator-help?

Are there any good articles or videos on reading your strike indicator? I'd like to know how to tell the difference between a real strike and the other variables that trick me, such as changes in the water flow, movement around rocks, hood grabbing moss or bottom rocks when nymphing.

I'm a novice and have fly fished 4 times now, twice with an experienced friend. I've caught 2-5 fish per outing, but I'm convinced I'm missing a lot of strikes b/c I get easily fool by the current changes in and around obstacles. I've been using Palsa Pinch on's set to the depth of water I'm fishing, except around heavier flow where I probably haven't allowed extra length for the flow. I really have a hard time reading the indicator over riffles. THanks.
Old 10-11-2007, 01:09 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future
Default Re: reading your strike indicator-help?

It sounds like you're trying too hard.